Cody Webb Clinches 2015 AMA EnduroCross Championship

November 23, 2016
Courtesy of KTM North America
RPM KTM rider Cody Webb clinched the 2015 AMA EnduroCross Championship at the season finale

RPM KTM support rider Cody Webb clinched his second consecutive AMA EnduroCross title after finishing 2nd place behind FMF KTM Factory rider Taylor Robert at the season finale at the Citizens Bank Arena.

The EnduroCross track for the final round was much less technical and much more jumpy than the previous tracks. This favored riders with motocross backgrounds like Robert while the crowd wondered how Webb would do. Despite the conditions, Webb prevailed and made up time in the rock sections and corners to keep his lap time close to Robert.

Both KTM riders were placed in the third heat race. It was Robert who got out front early and went on to win the heat race. Webb remained close and was able to finish 2nd to transfer into the main event.

At the start of the main event, Robert had a great jump but went slightly sideways around the first corner and was caught in a big pile up that halted half of the field. Webb was able to sneak under and move quickly into 2nd place. In another lap, he was able to take over the top spot and went on to lead through the halfway point. Robert was making up time and went from 5th to 2nd quickly. He began reeling in Webb who was riding cautiously to secure the championship. Robert made the pass for the lead and Webb moved back to 2nd. The two riders would remain in these positions through the end of the race. Robert’s victory marked his first win this season while Webb’s podium finish secured him the 2015 EnduroCross Championship.

“It feels so incredible to get this championship tonight,” stated Webb. “It was amazing to win last year but to go a full season with a target on your back and come out on top is a great feeling. I am so thankful to everyone who helped support me and to get this win for KTM.”

Overall Results –
1. Taylor Robert – KTM
2. Cody Webb – KTM
3. Colton Haaker
4. Max Gerston
5. Cory Graffunder
6. Geoff Aaron
7. Ty Tremaine – KTM
8. Wyatt Hart
9. Jamie Lanza – KTM
10. Noah Kepple – KTM